Photo Credit: AiF


AiF Senate welcomes new members from national politics

The Federation of Industrial Research Associations (AiF) appoints Dr Daniela Brönstrup from the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK) and MdB Dr Holger Becker (SPD) to the Senate of the AiF as of May 2022

Dr Daniela Brönstrup, who holds a doctorate in economics and is a ministerial director, has been head of the Digital and Innovation Policy VI department at the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action (BMWK) since January 2022. The funding programmes supervised by the AiF are also located there. Previously, she headed various departments at the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Technology and the Office of the Federal President. Her predecessor Stefan Schnorr, who became State Secretary in the Federal Ministry for Digital and Transport at the end of 2021, was in the AiF Senate from 2015 to 2021.

MdB Dr Holger Becker is a member of the Committee on Digital Affairs and the Committee on Education, Research and Technology Assessment as well as a deputy member of the Committee on Food and Agriculture of the German Bundestag. The entrepreneur from Thuringia is co-founder and Chief Scientific Officer of microfluidic ChipShop GmbH in Jena. At the same time, he is a member of various organisations that promote cooperation between business and research, including the Association of German Engineers or the Jena Economic Development Corporation.

Dr Anna Christmann represents the Bündnis 90/Die Grünen parliamentary group in the Bundestag, Nicola Beer, Vice-President of the European Parliament, represents the FDP, Stefan Rouenhoff, Member of the Bundestag, represents the CDU/CSU parliamentary group, and Dr Petra Sitte, Member of the Bundestag, represents Die Linke in the AiF Senate.

The Senate advises the AiF Executive Board on strategic and research policy issues and contributes to the discussion on long-term goals and guiding principles for the work of the AiF. In particular, it discusses the status of Industrial Collective Research and develops proposals for strengthening the programme. The statutory body currently has 26 honorary representatives from industry, science, trade associations, the state and politics. The new Senate members will serve until the end of April 2025.

Research Association for Combustion Engines eV

Lyoner Strasse 18
60528 Frankfurt am Main
T +49 69 6603 1345