Mission

Our task is to keep the future open

The FVV is globally networked to create science-based insights into forward technologies for climate neutrality and zero-impact emissions from sustainable energy conversion systems. We have a clear fact-based compass and we are always open to the best solution from a technical, economic and environmental point of view. In doing so, we organise open-topic research along the value chains, bringing together companies with the same interests regardless of size and economic power. We network bright minds and benefit from their knowledge and experience. We think ahead and open up paths to the world of tomorrow for young talents. This is how inner drive and passion give rise to science for a moving society.

We are the power behind all drives

In our innovation network, globally operating manufacturers of energy carriers, power systems, sustainable powertrains and prime movers such as vehicle / aircraft / industrial engines, fuel cells and turbo machines, as well as their suppliers and  development service providers, conduct together with universities  and other research institutions pre-competitive, collective  research on future technologies. The goal is to operate energy converters – engines, hybrid powertrains, turbines, compressors, turbochargers and fuel cells – with renewable energy sources in new, (partly) electrified, integrated and digitalised conversion systems in a more efficient, cleaner and sustainable way – to the benefit of society, climate, environment  and industry.

Science // Research

Science, future facts, sustainability and power distinguish the innovation + transfer network of the FVV. Sustainable, climate-effective technology solutions emerge from pre-competitive bottom-up research.

The FVV-Modell

The V-model is a well-established engineering process model that the FVV has adopted for IGF project planning: Society's demands and the associated technological requirements for sustainable energy conversion systems are specified from the system level down to the component level and implemented in research projects.

Research priorities and expert groups

The FVV follows a ›hands on‹ approach in which members shape and conduct pre-competitive applied research collectively. In the expert groups, under the leadership of experienced members, the common research needs are identified and projects are designed accordingly.

Compliance

In order to guarantee undistorted competition and legal certainty for members in carrying out their everyday committee work, the FVV commits itself to a comprehensive compliance code of conduct.

In the innovation + transfer network of the FVV, globally operating manufacturers of power systems, energy carriers, fuel cells, vehicle / aircraft / industrial engines and turbo machines, as well as their suppliers and development service providers, conduct together with universities and other research institutions pre-competitive, collective research on future technologies. In doing so, we always bear in mind the legal requirements that German and European legislation places on our association's work.

Industrial Collective Research (IGF) empowers companies to solve joint research and technology problems on a science-based approach. It provides access to a continuous stream of new knowledge that members may use effectively to develop their own products, processes and services. One of its core elements is knowledge transfer, which reaches its natural system boundary with the competitive implementation of research results. From here on, the companies use the new knowledge to develop their own products, which compete in the marketplace.

To guarantee undistorted competition and legal certainty for members in their everyday committee work, the FVV commits to a comprehensive Compliance Code of Conduct.

The Code of Conduct is to be observed by all member companies, research partners and employees of the FVV, especially when conducting meetings. It is intended to prevent German or European competition law from being violated by actions of the association and thus also serves to protect the association and its members.

Why FVV makes your company stronger

Industrial Collective Research (IGF) empowers companies to solve joint research and technology problems on a science-based approach. It provides access to a continuous stream of new knowledge you can use to create your own products, processes and services.

International cooperation is the key to technical progress in a globalised economy. Small, medium and large companies - manufacturers of power plants and energy carriers, powertrain systems, vehicle/industrial engines, fuel cells, aircraft engines and turbo machines as well as their development service providers and suppliers of systems and components - form an international platform for pre-competitive fundamental research. SMEs in particular can profit from the network because they may save costs and gain fresh impulses for product development.

Together we develop ideas for the future.

Unser Selbstverständnis

Wir halten die Zukunft offen

Gemeinsam und global vernetzt forscht die FVV an technologisch-wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen für Klima- neutralität und Zero-Impact-Emissionen in nachhaltigen Energiewandlungssystemen. Dabei haben wir einen klaren faktenbasierten Kompass. Wir sind immer offen für die beste Lösung: technisch, wirtschaftlich und politisch. Wir organisieren themenoffene Forschung entlang der Wertschöpfungsketten, die Unternehmen mit gleichen Interessen unabhängig von Größe und Wirtschaftskraft zusammenbringt. Wir vernetzen kluge Köpfe und profitieren von ihrem Wissen. Wir denken voraus und eröffnen dem wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs Wege in die Welt von morgen. So entsteht aus  innerem Antrieb und Leidenschaft Technik für den Fortschritt der Gesellschaft.

Wir sind die treibende Kraft hinter allen Antrieben

In unserem Innovationsnetzwerk forschen global agierende Hersteller von Energieanlagen und Energieträgern, Antriebssystemen, Fahrzeug-/Industriemotoren, Brennstoffzellen, Flugzeugtriebwerken und Turbomaschinen sowie deren Zulieferer und Entwicklungsdienstleister gemeinsam und vorwettbewerblich mit Universitäten und anderen Forschungseinrichtungen an Zukunftstechnologien. Das Ziel ist, Motoren, Hybridantriebe, Turbinen, Kompressoren, Verdichter und Brennstoffzellen in neuen, (teil-)elektrifizierten, integrierten und digitalisierten Energiewandlungssystemen noch effizienter, sauberer und nachhaltiger mit regenerativen Energieträgern zu betreiben – zum Vorteil von  Gesellschaft, Klima, Umwelt und Industrie.

Unsere Forschung

Im Innovations- und Transfernetzwerk der FVV steckt viel Bewegung, Zukunft, Verantwortung und Power: Aus vorwettbewerblicher, grundlagenorientierter Forschung entstehen nachhaltige, klimaeffektive Technologielösungen.

Das FVV-Modell

Das V-Modell ist ein in der Entwicklung bewährtes Vorgehensmodell, das die FVV für die IGF-Projektplanung übernommen hat: Gesellschaftliche und sich daraus ergebende technologische Anforderungen an nachhaltige Energiewandlungssysteme werden von der System- bis tief in die Komponentenebene spezifiziert und in Forschungsprojekten implementiert.

Forschungsschwerpunkte und Expertengruppen

Die FVV ist ein ›Mitmachverein‹: Industrienahe Forschung kann nur dann gelingen, wenn sie gemeinsam entwickelt und gestaltet wird. In den Expertengruppen wird unter der Leitung erfahrener Mitglieder der gemeinsame Forschungsbedarf ermittelt und entsprechend Projekte konzipiert.

Compliance

Um den unverfälschten Wettbewerb und Rechtssicherheit für Mitglieder in der täglichen Gremienarbeit zu garantieren, verpflichtet sich die FVV auf einen umfangreichen Compliance-Verhaltenskodex.

Im Innovations- + Transfernetzwerk der FVV forschen global agierende Hersteller von Energieanlagen und Energieträgern, Antriebssystemen, Fahrzeug-/Industriemotoren, Brennstoffzellen, Flugzeugtriebwerken und Turbomaschinen sowie deren Zulieferer und Entwicklungsdienstleister gemeinsam und vorwettbewerblich mit Universitäten und anderen Forschungseinrichtungen an Zukunftstechnologien. Dabei haben wir die rechtlichen Anforderungen, die die deutsche und europäische Gesetzgebung an unsere Verbandsarbeit stellt, stets im Blick.
 
Industrielle Gemeinschaftsforschung ermöglicht Unternehmen, gemeinsame Forschungs- und Technologieprobleme wissenschaftlich fundiert zu lösen. Sie bietet Zugang zu einem kontinuierlichen Strom von neuem Wissen, das die Mitglieder für die Entwicklung eigener Produkte, Verfahren und Dienstleistungen effektiv nutzen können. Eines ihrer Kernelemente ist der Wissenstransfer, der mit der wettbewerblichen Implementierung der Forschungsergebnisse seine natürliche Systemgrenze erreicht. Ab hier nutzen die Unternehmen das neue Wissen für die Entwicklung eigener Produkte, die sich auf dem Markt vom Wettbewerb unterscheiden.
 
Um den unverfälschten Wettbewerb und Rechtssicherheit für Mitglieder in der täglichen Gremienarbeit zu garantieren, verpflichtet sich die FVV auf einen umfangreichen Compliance-Verhaltenskodex.
 
Der Verhaltenskodex ist von allen Mitgliedsunternehmen, Forschungspartnern und den Angestellten der FVV vor allem bei der Durchführung von Sitzungen zu beachten. Er soll vermeiden, dass durch Handeln des Verbandes das deutsche oder europäische Wettbewerbsrecht verletzt wird, und dient damit auch dem Schutz des Verbandes und seiner Mitglieder.

Warum die FVV Ihr Unternehmen stärker macht

Industrielle Gemeinschaftsforschung (IGF) ermöglicht Unternehmen, gemeinsame Forschungs- und Technologieprobleme wissenschaftlich fundiert zu lösen. Sie bietet Zugang zu einem kontinuierlichen Strom von neuem Wissen, das für die Entwicklung eigener Produkte, Verfahren und Dienstleistungen genutzt werden kann.

Internationale Zusammenarbeit ist in einer globalisierten Wirtschaft der Schlüssel zu technischem Fortschritt. Kleine, mittlere und große Unternehmen - Hersteller von Energieanlagen und Energieträgern, Antriebssystemen, Fahrzeug-/Industriemotoren, Brennstoffzellen, Flugzeugtriebwerken und Turbomaschinen sowie deren Entwicklungsdienstleister und Zulieferer von Systemen und Komponenten - bilden eine internationale Plattform für vorwettbewerbliche Grundlagenforschung. Gerade der Mittelstand kann davon profitieren, weil er Kosten spart und neue Impulse für die Produktentwicklung gewinnt.

Gemeinsam entwickeln wir Ideen für die Zukunft.